Book / News

Formerly shortlisted for Ted Hughes Award

ted_hughes_poetry_B+WWe’re proud and excited to announce that Tamar Yoseloff has been shortlisted for the Poetry Society’s Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry, for Formerly, her collaboration with Vici MacDonald, published by Hercules Editions in June 2012.

This year’s judges were artist Cornelia Parker and poets Ian Duhig and Maura Dooley. Selecting from a wide range of work across all media, they have settled on a shortlist of seven poets.

Judge Ian Duhig commented: “Shortlisting for the Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry was a simultaneously exhilarating and heartbreaking process: the former, because so much of the work we saw was of a terrifically high standard; the latter, because there was so much of merit that we had to leave off the shortlist. We favoured work that was moving away from the usual formulae and the good news is that there is a lot of original poetry being written in these islands today.”

The following poets have been shortlisted for the Award, for new poetry presented in the UK during 2012:

  • Tamar Yoseloff for Formerly
  • Colette Bryce for Ballasting the Ark
  • Roy Fisher for Locklines
  • Ruth Padel for The Mara Crossing
  • Mario Petrucci for Tales from the Bridge
  • Denise Riley for A Part Song
  • Kate Tempest for Brand New Ancients

The prize, now in its fourth year, is awarded to a living UK poet, working in any form, who has made the most exciting contribution to poetry. The £5,000 prize is donated by Carol Ann Duffy, funded from the annual honorarium the Poet Laureate traditionally receives from HM The Queen. The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry seeks to recognise excellence in poetry, highlighting outstanding contributions made by poets to our cultural life.

The award will be announced on 27 March 2013 at the Savile Club, alongside the winner of the National Poetry Competition 2012.

• Find out more at